For this Admiral Markets review, we opened a live account and deposited over €4,5oo.

We traded the popular instrument in each market to determine the actual spreads and placed 12 trades in total.

We contacted the broker’s customer support team to resolve the challenges we faced.

Finally, we withdrew our funds to determine if the withdrawal process was smooth.

What is Admiral Markets

Admiral Markets is a global Forex and CFDs broker founded in 2001 whose parent company is Admiral Markets Group AS, based in Estonia.

The broker is licensed in Australia, the United Kingdom, Cyprus, and Estonia.

Admiral Markets offers thousands of instruments to traders in the following categories, Forex pairs, indices, stocks, commodities and cryptocurrencies.

The broker offers a diverse product range consisting of over 3,300 tradable instruments compared to its competitors.

Here’s a summary of Admiral Markets’ main features:

🗺️ Authorised & Regulated inUK, Cyprus, Australia, Estonia
🛡️ Is Admiral Markets safeYes
💰 EUR/USD Spread0.6
💳 Minimum depositUS$1
💰 Withdrawal fee$0 but there is a 0.9% fee on deposits with Skrill & Neteller
🖥️ Trading PlatformMT4, MT5
📈 Markets offeredForex, Indices, Stocks, Commodities, Cryptocurrencies
📉 Number of Products3305

Licenses and Regulations

Admiral Markets is licensed by 4 regulators globally, including the top-tier UK Financial Conduct Authority (FCA), the Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC), the Cyprus Securities and Exchange Commission (CySEC) and Estonia’s Financial Supervision Authority (FSA).

Here’s a full list of the licenses held by Admiral Markets’ subsidiaries:

Legal entityRegistered inRegulatorLicense NumberAccepting Clients FromCompensation Scheme Amount
Admiral Markets UK LimitedUnited KingdomFinancial Conduct Authority (FCA)595450Globally many countries£85,000
Admiral Markets Cyprus LimitedCyprusCyprus Securities & Exchange Commission (CySEC)201/13EU€20,000
Admiral Markets Pty LimitedAustraliaAustralian Financial Services License (AFSL)410681Globally many countriesNo compensation scheme
Admiral Markets ASEstoniaRepublic of Estonia Ministry of Financial Supervision Authority (FSA)10932555Estonia€20,000
Admiral Markets FCA License

Is Admiral Markets Safe

Yes, Admiral Markets is safe to trade. The broker is regulated by the top-tier ASIC, and the UK’s FCA, which have strict rules and enforcement procedures. The broker is also licensed by Cyprus’ CySEC, and Estonia’s FSA.

The UK’s FCA guarantees investors’ compensation of up to £85,000 if the broker goes bankrupt, while the CySEC guarantees investors’ compensation of up to €20,000 if the broker becomes insolvent.

Traders have to be registered under the relevant entity to qualify for compensation if a broker declares bankruptcy.

We did not encounter any major challenges when trading with Admiral Markets.

For this review, we opened a Trade.MT5 account with Admiral Markets UK Limited, licensed by the UK’s Financial Conduct Authority (FCA). We deposited money into the account, placed trades, and finally withdrew our funds.

We recommend that you open your account with the UK or Cyprus entities since they are the only ones that offer deposit protection to traders if either is available to you.

The FCA offers deposit protection of up to £85,000 if the broker becomes insolvent, while the CySEC offers deposit protection of up to €20,000.

Fees and Commissions

Admiral Markets charges very low fees for trading the main instruments on offer: Forex pairs, indices, stocks, and commodities.

The broker’s average spreads for the popular instruments in each market were much lower than industry averages.

Some account types have very low spreads combined with a commission, while other account types have no commissions, but feature wider spreads.

Spread Charged in our Trades

In our tests, we traded the most popular instrument in each market. We placed 3 trades per instrument to get an accurate estimate of the average spread. We tested Admiral Markets’ Trade.MT5 account, which charges a spread on all instruments. The spreads were quite low, as shown in the table below.

MarketsInstruments1st trade 2nd trade 3rd trade Avg. Spread
ForexEUR/USD0.80.450.450.6
IndicesFTSE 1000.80.80.80.8
StocksApple0.80.750.70.8
CommoditiesGold33.152.592.9

We executed all our trades via the MetaTrader 5 mobile app on our iPhone.

A deeper comparison of the spreads charged in our trades revealed that they were well below industry benchmarks. None of Admiral Markets’ average spreads was above industry averages.

MarketsInstrumentsAvg. Spread ChargedIndustry Avg. Spread
ForexEUR/USD0.61.6
IndicesFTSE 1000.81.5
StocksApple0.81.5
CommoditiesGold2.93.8

Other fees

Admiral Markets charges a 0.9% deposit fee on Neteller and Skrill deposits. The broker also charges a monthly inactivity fee of €10, if there are no new or running transactions on an account for 24 months. The broker does not charge a withdrawal fee.

Account Types

Admiral Markets offers 5 account types with slightly different features. The accounts are known as the Trade.MT4, Zero.MT4, Trade.MT5, Invest.MT5, and Zero.MT5 accounts.

See the differences below:

Trade.MT4Zero.MT4Trade.MT5Invest.MT5Zero.MT5
Trading PlatformMetaTrader 4MetaTrader 4MetaTrader 5MetaTrader 5MetaTrader 5
Base Currency OptionsEUR/ USD/ GBP/ CHF/ BGN/ CZK/ HRK/ HUF/ PLN/ RONEUR / USD / GBP / CHF / BGN / CZK / HRK / HUF / PLN / RONEUR / USD / GBP / CHF / BGN / CZK / HRK / HUF / PLN / RONEUR / USD / GBP / CHF / BGN / CZK / HRK / HUF / PLN / RONEUR / USD / GBP / CHF / BGN / CZK / HRK / HUF / PLN / RON
Minimum Deposit$/€/£ 100$/€/£ 100$/€/£ 100$/€/£ 1$/€/£ 100
Commission*See note below
$1.8-$3.0 per lot
None$2 per lot$1.8-$3.0 per lot
Order ExecutionMarket ExecutionMarket ExecutionMarket ExecutionExchange ExecutionMarket Execution
SpreadFrom 0.5From 0From 0.5From 0From 0
NoteCommisions of Trade. MT4 account: Single Share & ETF CFDs – from 0.02 USD per share, Other instruments – no commissions

Admiral Markets also offers swap-free Islamic Accounts. Such accounts do not attract a swap fee for positions held overnight, but trades held for more than 3 nights attract an administration fee.

For our tests, we chose to open the Trade.MT5 Account.

Account Opening

Admiral Markets account opening is fast and efficient. We went through the entire process, and completed it digitally.

Here are the 5 steps to opening an Admiral Markets account:

  1. Enter your country of residence, full name, email address, password and phone number.
  2. Verify your email and phone number, then choose your account type, currency, and leverage.
  3. Enter your date and place of birth and residential address including your city/town, street number, residence, postal/ZIP code.
  4. Answer a few questions about your financial position including your income and net worth as well as your investing/trading experience.
  5. Verify your account using either a national ID or Passport and a utility bill or bank statement.
Admiral Markets Account Opening

The registration process took exactly 15 minutes, and our account was approved on the same day.

We registered our account on 25 February 2021, and it was approved on 25 February 2021.

For this test, we opened the Trade.MT5 account with Admiral Markets UK Limited, which is regulated by the UK’s FCA.

Deposit and Withdrawal

Admiral Markets offers fast deposits and withdrawals. Traders can deposit and withdraw from their accounts using the following payment methods, bank wires, credit and debit cards, and e-wallets such as Skrill and Neteller.

The broker charges a fee on Skrill and Neteller deposits, which is not a common practice in the industry.

Admiral Markets Deposit and Withdrawal Methods

Minimum Deposit

Admiral Markets has a minimum deposit requirement of $/€/£ 100 on its Trade.MT4, Zero.MT5, Trade.MT5, and Zero.MT5 accounts, while the Invest.MT5 account has a minimum deposit of $/€/£ 1.

Deposit

Admiral Markets’ clients can deposit funds into their trading accounts via bank transfers, debit/credit cards, and e-wallets such as Skrill, and Neteller.

The table below has the details of our deposits:

Payment MethodSubmitted DateFunded Account DateFunding TimeFee
Credit card08 March 2021 08 March 2021Instant€0.00
Credit card08 March 202108 March 2021Instant€0.00
Skrill08 March 202108 March 20214 hours€18.00
Neteller08 March 202108 March 2021Instant €9.00

Admiral Markets is one of a few brokers who charge a fee on deposits. The broker charges a 0.9% fee on deposits made via Neteller and Skrill. Our Skrill deposit was not instant as we had to wait for 4 hours before the amount was credited to our account. Credit and debit card deposits are free and instant. We did not deposit via bank transfer.

Withdrawal

Admiral Markets allows its clients to make withdrawals via the same payment methods available for deposits making it easy for investors to access their funds.

Admiral Markets does not charge a fee on withdrawals unlike most brokers who have withdrawal fees. However, the broker charges a fee on e-wallet deposits.

Payment MethodSubmitted DateFunds Released DateFunds Arrived DateWithdrawal TimeFee
Credit card09 March 202109 March 202110 March 20211 dayzero
Skrill08 March 202108 March 202108 March 20211 hourzero
Neteller08 March 202109 March 202109 March 20211 dayzero

We did not encounter any difficulties during the withdrawal process, which was quite smooth.

Markets and Products

Admiral Markets offers a wide selection of tradable instruments in the Forex, indices, stocks, commodities and cryptocurrencies markets.

Here’s the complete list of Admiral Markets’ product offering:

MarketsInstruments
Forex50
Indices43
Stocks3352
Commodities28
Cryptocurrencies32

The broker offers a significant amount of stocks CFDs to its clients.

Trading Conditions

The trading conditions at Admiral Markets are great. Traders can execute most trading strategies given that the broker allows high-risk strategies such as hedging and scalping.

There are no time limits for how long you can keep your hedging positions open. Admiral Markets also allows traders to use Expert Advisors (EAs).

Trading MethodAllowed
HedgingYes*
ScalpingYes
Change LeverageYes

*The broker allows hedging strategies on all account types except for the Invest.MT5 account.

Leverage

Admiral Markets clients have access to different leverage levels based on the entity under which their account is registered.

Traders can also change their account’s leverage levels after registration.

The table below shows the various leverage levels available to clients:

MarketsAdmiral Markets UK LimitedAdmiral Markets Cyprus LimitedAdmiral Markets ASAdmiral Markets Pty Limited
Major currency pairs30:130:130:1500:1
Non-major currency pairs20:120:120:1500:1
Gold20:120:120:1500:1
Other Commodities (except gold)10:110:110:1500:1
Indices5:15:110:1500:1
Stocks5:15:15:120:1
CryptocurrenciesN/AN/A2:15:1

Bonus

Admiral Markets does not offer bonuses to its clients.

Trading Platform

Admiral Markets offers the popular MetaTrader 4 (MT4) and MetaTrader 5 (MT5) platforms to its clients. Clients can trade via the broker’s website and the mobile and desktop MT4 and MT5 applications. The broker does not have a proprietary trading platform.

Admiral Markets Trading Platform

Traders who prefer the MetaTrader platform can choose between the MT4 and MT5 platforms. However, traders who prefer to trade on proprietary platforms have to find an alternative broker.

We found the MT5 platform to be satisfactory for traders who prefer to trade on a modern platform, while the MT4 platform is outdated.

Research and Tools

Admiral Markets provides market research via the in-built features on the MetaTrader platforms. Clients can access premium research from Trading Central via the MetaTrader Supreme Edition, an available add-in on the platforms.

The broker has a Premium Analytics section, which gives its clients access to the Dow Jones News calendar, signals from Trading Central, and sentiment trackers from Acuity Trading. All these are freely available to their clients.

Admiral Markets also has a Trader’s Blog where it publishes fundamental and technical analysis articles covering significant market moves several times each month. The broker also has a Forex Calendar and a Trading Calculator.

Admiral Markets Analytics

The broker also produces a weekly trading podcast that discusses past and coming fundamental events and provides market analysis and trading strategies.

Education

Admiral Markets has a great beginners course titled Forex 101 that consists of nine in-depth lessons that acquaint new traders with the Forex markets’ dynamics. Traders have to sign up for a free demo account to gain access to lessons 4-9; the first three lessons are freely available.

The broker also hosts free weekly educational webinars that build on the course content. The course also focuses on risk management as a key pillar of trading, which is commendable.

Admiral Markets also provides several detailed articles and tutorials that cover various trading topics. Traders also have access to a complete guide to the Forex markets called Zero-to-Hero.

Admiral Markets Zero to Hero Course

Customer Service

Admiral Markets’ customer support team was very helpful and gave us direct and accurate answers to our questions. We first contacted the support team via live chat and received a prompt and accurate answer to our question.

Admiral Markets Customer Support Live Chat

You can reach the Admiral Markets customer service team via email and live chat. Our live chat query reached the customer support team within 2 minutes, which was quite impressive.

Our second query was submitted to the customer support team via email. We received a clear, detailed and accurate answer within an hour. We were impressed by the fast response time.

Here are the results of our test below:

QuestionResponse TimeQuality of reply
Live chatWhy do you need further approval when we deposit funds into our trading wallet?We reached a support agent within 2 minutes.It was direct, detailed, and accurate.
EmailWhy are we barred from trading BTCUSD in our Trade.MT5 account?We received feedback within an hour. It was accurate and detailed.

Conclusion

Finally, we had a smooth experience with Admiral Markets starting from the account opening, to the deposit, trading and withdrawal processes.

Admiral Markets has high execution speeds and very low spreads on all instruments. However, the broker charges high fees for Skrill and Neteller deposits. We encourage traders to deposit via credit and debit cards, which are free.

Traders should also avoid depositing funds into their trading wallets, which requires approval from the broker’s finance department. We encourage traders to deposit funds directly into their trading accounts, which is instant.

We recommend Admiral Markets to all types of traders, from beginners to experienced professionals. This is a truly safe broker, given that it does not have an offshore license. The UK and Australian entities accept clients from all countries globally. Hence, clients from every country are truly protected.


Author of this review

By George Rossi

Author of this review

I am a well-rounded financial services professional experienced in fundamental and technical analysis, global macroeconomic research, foreign exchange and commodity markets.

I am passionate about observing foreign exchange movements, sharing educational insights into the financial markets.

Everything you find on BrokerTested is based on reliable data and unbiased information. We combine our 10+ years finance experience with readers feedback. Read more about our methodology

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *