For this Capital.com review, we have opened a standard account with the broker and deposited over €3,500.

We traded the popular instrument in each market to get the real spreads and placed a total of 15 trades.

We also reached out to customer support to solve the issues we faced.

Finally, we withdrew our funds to see if there are any issues with the withdrawal process.

What is Capital.com

Capital.com is a forex and contracts for differences (CFDs) broker with headquarter in London, the United Kingdom. The broker was founded in 2016.

Offerings of Capital.com include trading services with forex, indices, commodities, cryptocurrencies, and stock CFDs. It also offers spread betting in the UK and Ireland.

The broker is well-regulated with licenses in the United Kingdom, Cyprus, and Belarus.

Some of the highlights of Capital.com are:

🗺️ Authorised & Regulated inUK, Cyprus, Belarus
🛡️ Is Capital.com safeYes
💰 EUR/USD Spread0.8
💳 Minimum deposit$20
💰 Withdrawal fee0
🖥️ Trading PlatformMT4, Mobile App
📈 Markets offeredForex, Indices, Stocks, Commodities, Cryptocurrencies
📉 Number of Products3720(depends on the jurisdiction)

Licenses and Regulations

Capital.com holds 3 regulatory licenses.

The broker is regulated in the United Kingdom, Cyprus, and Belarus.

The full list of Capital.com’s licenses is below:

Legal entityRegistered inRegulatorLicense numberAccepting clients fromCompensation scheme amount
Capital Com (UK) LimitedUnited KingdomFinancial Conduct Authority (FCA)793714United Kingdom£85,000
Capital Com SV Investments LimitedCyprusCyprus Securities and Exchange Commission (CySEC)319/17European Union€20,000
Closed joint-stock company “Capital Com Bel”BelarusNational Bank of the Republic of Belarus (NBRB)193225654GlobalNo compensation scheme
Capital.com CySEC License

Is Capital.com Safe?

Yes, Capital.com is a safe broker for trading from a regulatory standpoint.

The broker is regulated in 3 jurisdictions. The UK’s FCA is one of the most reputed regulators and also offers a compensation scheme of up to £85,000. Additionally, the clients under the CySEC-regulated entity receive a compensation scheme of €20,000 for the protection of their funds.

For our tests, we opened a Standard account on the MT4 platform with Capital Com SV Investments Limited which is regulated by CySEC in Cyprus.

Fees and Commissions

Capital.com’s fees are built into spreads.

Spreads on our forex trades were much lower than the industry average benchmark. However, spreads charged for stocks and cryptocurrency trades are significantly higher than the industry benchmark.

Spread Charged in Our Trades

For our tests, we have chosen popular instruments in each market. We placed 3 trades for each instrument to get a picture of the average spread.

Spreads for our trades in all asset classes remained stable, much like fixed spreads. We only recorded variations in commodity spreads.

Details of our trades are shown below the table.

MarketsInstruments1st trade2nd trade3rd tradeAvg. spread
ForexEUR/USD0.80.80.80.8
IndicesFTSE 1001.41.41.41.4
StocksApple8.38.38.38.3
CommoditiesGold2.83.33.253.12
CryptocurrenciesBitcoin154154154154

Our testing finds that forex spreads Capital.com is much lower than the industry average. Spreads on indices and gold are also on the lower side. However, spreads charges on stocks and cryptocurrency traders are too high.

MarketsInstrumentsAvg. spread charged in our tradesIndustry avg. spread
ForexEUR/USD0.81.6
IndicesFTSE 1001.41.5
StocksApple8.31.5
CommoditiesGold3.123.8
CryptocurrenciesBitcoin15445

Other Fees

Capital.com has minimum non-trading fees. The broker does not charge any deposit or withdrawal fees. Further, there are no inactivity or account maintenance fees either.

Account Types

Capital.com offers three types of accounts to retail traders

Standard AccountPlus AccountPremier Account
Trading PlatformsMetaTrader 4, Capital.com AppMetaTrader 4, Capital.com AppMetaTrader 4, Capital.com App
Account CurrencyUSD, EUR, GBP, PLNUSD, EUR, GBP, PLNUSD, EUR, GBP, PLN
Minimum deposit$20$3,000$10,000
CommissionNoneNoneNone
Order executionInstant ExecutionInstant ExecutionInstant Execution
SpreadFrom 0From 0From 0

Capital.com also onboards professional clients, offering them higher leverage levels.

Account Opening

Our overall experience of opening a new account with Capital.com was smooth and quick.

We opened a Capital.com Standard Account for our tests under the Cyprus-regulated entity.

The process of registration of a new Capital.com account:

  1. Enter email and password on the initial registration page (traders can also register using Google, Facebook, or Apple account)
  2. Provide personal details like country of residence, nationality, and place of birth.
  3. Provide details on trading experiences like duration of trading and financial instruments traded, among others.
  4. Enter details of formal education and employment status. Also declare the annual income, source of income, wealth, and amount of annual expected investment.
  5. Answer a few questions on trading knowledge.
  6. Enter personal details like name, middle name, surname, residential address, and phone number. Also, select account currency and patent method.

We submitted the following documents to verify our Capital.com account:

  1. Copy of national identification (both front and back)
  2. Copy of passport

The registration process took around 16 minutesOur account was verified on the same day.

Our account was registered on April 17, 2021, and approved on the same day.

Our overall account opening experience was smooth and without any issues from registration to verification.

Capital.com Account Opening

Deposit and Withdrawal

Both deposits and withdrawals on Capital.com are easy and fast.

The broker does not charge any fees on deposit and withdrawals

Minimum Deposit

Minimum deposits on Capital.com vary with the account type.

  • Standard account: $20
  • Plus account: $3,000
  • Premier account: $10,000

For deposits via bank transfer, Capital.com requires a minimum deposit of $250.

Deposit

Capital.com supports deposits with bank transfers, credit and debit cards, and payment platforms like Sofort, iDeal, Giropay, Multibanko, Przelewy24, QIWI, Webmoney, ApplePay, Trustly, 2c2p, or AstropayTEF.

We tested the deposit process on Capital.com only using a debit card. We were disappointed with the lack of support for popular eWallets like PayPal, Skrill, or Neteller.

Details of our fund deposits are shown in the below table.

Payment MethodSubmitted DateFunded Account DateFunding TimeFee
Debit card2021-04-262021-04-26Instant0
Capital.com Fund Deposit

Withdrawal

Capital.com allows withdrawals with bank transfers, credit and debit cards, and other methods that are supported for deposits.

Overall, our experience with the Capital.com withdrawal process was positive, but we faced an issue with our first withdrawal request.

Details of our withdrawal requests are in the table below.

Payment MethodSubmitted DateFund Released DateFund Arrived DateWithdrawal TimeFee
Debit card2021-04-27DeclinedNANANA
Debit card2021-04-272021-04-292021-04-292 working days0

We submitted our first withdrawal request on 27th April but received an email from Capital.com saying that our withdrawal was declined.

On inquiry, the broker’s support team suggested us to try and submit a withdrawal request again or they will process the withdrawal using bank transfer.

We insisted to withdraw the funds to our debit card and initiated a second withdrawal request. Capital.com finally realeased our fund and we received it on April 29.

Markets and Products

Capital.com offers CFDs trading services with forex, indices, stocks, commodities, and cryptocurrencies. The UK-registered entity does not offer cryptocurrency instruments.

The complete list of Capital.com offerings are:

MarketsInstruments
Forex138
Indices27
Stocks3,278
Commodities38
Cryptocurrencies239

The markets and the number of offered instruments will depend on the account jurisdiction.

Trading Conditions

Capital.com offers excellent trading conditions. The broker allows hedging and scalping strategies and traders can change leverage levels as well.

Trading MethodAllowed
HedgingYes
ScalpingYes
Change LeverageYes

Leverage

Leverages offered by the various entities of Capital.com are detailed below:

MarketsCapital Com (UK) LimitedCapital Com SV Investments LimitedClosed joint-stock company “Capital Com Bel”
Major Currency Pairs30:130:1100:1
Non-Major Currency Pairs20:120:1100:1
Gold20:120:1100:1
Other Commodities (except Gold)10:110:1100:1
Indices5:15:1100:1
Stocks5:15:15:1
CryptocurrenciesNA2:15:1

Trading Platform

Capital.com offers the two trading platforms:

  • Capital.com trading app (the brokers proprietary platform)
  • MetaTrader 4 (an industry-standard third-party trading platform)

MetaQuotes Software-developed MetaTrader 4 is available on desktop, web, and mobile, while Capital.com trading app is available on the web and mobile platforms.

We executed all our trades on the MetaTrader 4 trading platform.

Capita.com Web Trading Platform

Bonus

Capital.com’s Belarus-registered entity offers a $50 bonus to new traders.

Maximum payout$50
Minimum depositThe minimum deposit is based on account type
RequirementsBonus can be withdrawn only after traded volume exceeds $500,000
Capital.com Bonus Page

Research and Tools

Capital.com offers excellent tools for market research and analysis.

Tools offered by the broker include:

  • Impressive charting tools
  • Economic calendar
  • Trading ideas via Trading Central
  • Newsfeed
Capital.com Analyst Reviews

Education

Capital.com offers exceptional educational resources.

The broker’s educational materials only include:

  • Detailed courses on trading
  • Video guides on trading
  • In-depth articles trading and platforms
  • Webinars
  • Glossary
  • Demo account
Capital.com Online Courses

Customer Service

Capital.com offers decent customer support.

Traders can contact the broker via:

  • Live chat (also on WhatsApp, Telegram, Facebook Messenger or Viber)
  • Email
  • Phone

The support staff is available 24/7.

Our experience with Capital.com customer support was mixed.

Though most of the time the support staff responded quickly with accurate answers, some of our questions went unanswered.

QuestionResponse TimeQuality of reply
Live ChatAsked several questions on trading platforms, deposits, and withdrawals1-2 minuteClear and accurate
Live ChatWe couldn’t log in to our client portal. There was a pop-up window saying we need to contact their support team.10 minuteLate, but accurate
EmailAsked questions on withdrawal fees and also issues with our first withdrawal request2 hoursClear and detailed
EmailAsked why they haven’t released our withdrawal fund even after more than 24 hoursNo replyNA

When we first tried to withdraw funds, the withdraw button on the client portal page wasn’t clickable and our balance was showing in negative, which wasn’t correct.

We approached customer support and the glitch was fixed the next day. However, we did not receive any notification from Capital.com after the fix.

Capital.com Customer Support

The broker also has a detailed FAQ section for frequently faced issues.

Conclusion

Our overall experience with Capital.com was positive.

The spreads charged on our forex trades were much lower than the industry average, but it was too stable. However, spreads on stocks and cryptocurrencies were high.

Capital.com allows hedging and scalping. Traders can also change the leverage levels.

The broker does not charge fees for deposits or withdrawals, but payment methods are limited. The customer support was also good and most of the responses were clear and detailed.

We recommend Capital.com to forex traders who run EA and other trading strategies.


Author of this review

By George Rossi

Author of this review

I am a well-rounded financial services professional experienced in fundamental and technical analysis, global macroeconomic research, foreign exchange and commodity markets and an independent trader.

Now I am passionate about reviewing and comparing forex brokers.

Everything you find on BrokerTested is based on reliable data and unbiased information. We combine our 10+ years finance experience with readers feedback. Read more about our methodology

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *